Reader Reviews – A Monk’s Way

Reader Reviews for A Monk’s Way…

on October 10, 2016
Very well-written and edited book that eloquently and richly describes the inner thoughts and struggles of monk Jean Moreau. It is an excellent guide toward greater spiritual awareness and re-centering one’s life in our tumultuous world.
on August 18, 2016
It is not often that I come across a book that transports me to a world of inner life and spirituality. With all the noise and upheaval that characterizes our modern world, it is a gift to find a book that connects me to another dimension of existence — my higher self. Not only a learned person but anyone who is looking for a sense of quietude and serenity and for a deep sense of connectedness will benefit from reading A Monk’s Way by Clark Eide. More than at any other time, there is a need for such a book that is capable of transforming the reader’s life. I highly recommend the book to any seeker of meaning and purpose in life.
Rabbi Yosef Levanon
on May 9, 2016
I was absolutely transported into the life, motivations and awarenesses of a Monk in Clark Eide’s book! Through this page-turning story about a Monk’s life I not only felt the complexity of what it means to devote one’s self to a Higher Calling, I was also able to witness the conflict and the resolutions that a holy seeker faces. I felt incredibly close to the character and in some way felt as if I experienced this divine path myself. I highly recommend this book!

5.0 out of 5 stars – A beautiful book.

ByAnneBon March 29, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I loved this book from beginning to end. Eide tells the story of Father Jean Moreau, a monk who goes through many trials through his years in an Abbey with his fellow monks. The book gives a very detailed account of the daily lives of the monks in the Abbey, the many different times a day for prayer, the work they do, and how they get along with each other. While this was very interesting the important parts of the book are the ones wher Jean talks about his relationship with the divine and teaches how we can all learn to become closer to God.

I got so much from reading this book, it has helped me to feel closer to God and has helped with making my prayers feel more important and rewarding. This is an excellent read for anyone interested in deepening their spiritual life.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Like many of us Jean is on a journey to …

ByAmazon Customeron March 10, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

A Monk’s Way, written by Clark Eide, introduces us to Jean Moreau. Like many of us Jean is on a journey to discover answers where there are answers, and accept when answers need to be left to faith. Through masterful writing each chapter draws you farther in to the life of Jean Moreau and his relationship with religion, and life outside of the monestary. I found this book to be thought provoking and very difficult to put down.

Marcia Johnson, Educational Administrator

 

4.0 out of 5 stars – An inspiring read.

Bylovetoreadon March 6, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

Call me silly but I thought this was a biography, about Jean Moreau a father in a Benedictine Monastery in France, in fact that’s how I read it. I am now a bit disappointed to realize this was a story written by Clark Eide. The fact it’s a story distracts a bit from the message for me, but otherwise it was a very enjoyable read, I didn’t want to put the story down, I enjoyed learning about the monks at Kervennec, and about Jean Moreau life at the monastery. The intricacies of the monastic life, and how people sometimes think that people enter the monastery to escape life’s problems but are given the same problems within the monastic environment. I felt the messages/insights in the story where very helpful to every day life but the title, A Path to Awareness is a bit misleading. All in all an inspiring read, when your feeling a bit bogged down by life, I think it could help raise your spirit.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Don’t miss this one!

ByNancy Wenandeon March 5, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

If you are looking for an insightful book regarding the “higher power” then this is the book for you. The way it is written makes you think about your own views on religion and alternative views. The book is engaging and inspiring. Looking forward to the release of the next one…

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – In A Monk’s Way, Clark Eide explores the inner self of the monk. His journey is personal and thoughtful.

ByAmos Smithon January 13, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Of all the Jungian Archetypes, such as Warrior, Lover, Magician, Queen/King, the archetype of the Monk is the most overlooked and has the most profound transformative power.
In A Monk’s Way, Clark Eide explores the inner self of the monk. His journey is personal and thoughtful. Eide’s thoughts about the inner like are important in a world where people tend to over-focus on mass movements or appeals to the prevalence of reason. Eide hi-lights the journey within – the monk’s journey. As Carl Jung states in his classic, “The Undiscovered Self,” there are no easy solutions to the terrible crises of our industrialized world. And the transformation of our world depends on the recognition of good and evil in every individual and on a true exploration and understanding of the inner self.

I highly recommend “A Monk’s Way”

-Amos Smith (author of Healing The Divide: Recovering Christianity’s Mystic Roots

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – It is very easy to identify with the  main `hero`

ByBrad R.on January 2, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I have spent many years searching to find the meaning of life. Am I a spiritual being in a human body or a human being looking for the attainment of the higher Spirit? `A Monk`s Way` by Clark Eide is a must read novel about the search for Spirit. If you are religious or not, it is very easy to identify with the main `hero`. A simple man with complex ideas, beliefs and thoughts. His belief in his commitment to his life in the religious commune is complete and enviable, yet his struggle is very worldly. Jean Moreau talks to you from his monastery in France, far removed from daily life, yet he lingers with his questions and solutions. Please read `A Monk`s Way`as it answers a myriad of questions. Thank you Clark for this book.
Brad Raymond 28/12/2015

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Great Guide to Spirituality

Bytomelderon January 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

If one is looking to develop their awareness and spirituality, this book serves as a great self-help guide to achieve those goals.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – The wonderfully skillful and descriptive writing kept me involved throughout

ByPhillips Randall Bookson December 7, 2015

Format: Paperback

I found A Monk’s Way thought provoking and in many ways enlightening. The wonderfully skillful and descriptive writing kept me involved throughout. My spirits were reawakened and uplifted in many respects while reading it. Author Clark Eide is obviously a man with great insight who has a true sense of the complexities of human nature and psychology as well as the challenges of finding spiritual enlightenment. I look forward to another greta read about Jean Moreau and A Monk’s Way.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – “A Monk’s Way” is a very insightful look into the …

ByAmazon Customeron November 21, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

“A Monk’s Way” is a very insightful look into the character of a modern person finding his spirit and life as a Monk in a French monastery. It places a clear focus on the value of peacefulness, goodness and reflection in a time of extreme haste and anxiety. Timely and timeless– a unique combination. Rick

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Revealing, expressive.

Bychris hon October 26, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

Both entertaining and informative, this book represents the complex nature of monastic life. Juxtaposed within their traditions, personalities and politics emerge for the monks to consider. Their human nature and their call to God’s service seem to conflict at times. Looking deeper the reader discovers a oneness we all share. Mr. Eide has brought into focus a unique glimpse into the realm of monks. I recommend this book to all who seek deeper knowledge of monastic traditions and a wider view of the human condition.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – I have always been intrigued with the idea of a …

ByAmazon Customeron October 9, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I have always been intrigued with the idea of a monsatery, with its ordered and peaceful life, and this book enabled me to see that life up close, through the eyes of a very thoughtful (and thought-provoking) character – Jean Moreau. The character raises some deep questions, and makes you think about life’s journey through the story of his own discoveries along the path. A well told and engaging story of a modern monk.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Inspiring!

ByMakon October 8, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

The author has obviously spent years on his Journey in life searching for Truth. Through Awareness he has synthesized the old spiritual practices with those of this advanced energy. He shares his deep spiritual knowing via this engaging book.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Transformational

Bysam kaneon October 5, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

A Monk’s Way changed my life in great ways. I would be distracted by all of the stresses in my daily life, but as I began reading, those concerns would melt away as I was captivated by the protagonist’s calm, foreign perspective of our world. The language is so engaging that it seemed like I could reach out and feel the coolness of the stone walls of the Abbey as I accompanied Moreau down the hall. If doctors dispensed this book before blood pressure medication, I believe that their patients would be better off, even with all the action within. It is a page-turner, I always wanted to read “just a little more” to find out what was going to happen to my friend. I have never really understood the choice to be a monk, but did become a bit envious of the surprising freedoms it offered. A Monk’s Way shifted my focus from my mundane worries, and elevated my thoughts to contemplate the more significant questions of our existence. If you enjoy being stressed out, don’t buy this book! I am a happier person for having read it.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – I really loved this story!

ByEllenon September 28, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

I really enjoyed this book. At base, it is a guide to a more spiritual life with all of its wonders; but it is also a story of a man, subject to passions and human weaknesses, who happens to be a monk.
The author has taken a lot of time to look at the nuance of the spiritual experience in our lives. The writing is clear and simple. He sets up each chapter with a relevant quote from sources as disparate as the Delphi oracle to Thomas Merton. His understanding of how a monastery functions is superb.
I had the feeling when I had finished that I knew the main character, Jean Moreau, like a good friend. He’s both believable and wise. He taught me a lot.
Anyone who is a seeker would benefit by reading this story. I heartily endorse it.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – A lot to learn from this book!

ByCarl H.on September 24, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I view this as a rather important work. It’s laced with the wisdom of one who has experienced much. Even though it takes place in an abbey where few of us have been and which many outsiders would think would be all Catholic, it’s a perfect setting for the discussions that follow. Those discussions treat our approach to God and God’s approach to us with common sense, simplicity and subtlety. Beautifully written in many parts, the story evokes what it’s meant to evoke – empathy for the common man and hope for the future for all of us as we evolve to the next level.
This is not a book for everyone, but for those who think about the eternal questions of existence. Having said that, it is a good story – believable and understandable and valuable.
The good news is that there will be a sequel!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars – Great Book. Among the essential ones in my library.

ByFranciscoon September 13, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Fr. Jean Moreau is a spiritual man but an Everyman. It is easy to identify with him and his challenges, and there is a lot to learn from him. A great discussion of his perception of the God-man relationship. Very worthwhile and well written.